Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is an advisory body to the City Council.  The Planning Commission conducts public hearings to receive public comments on development proposals, subdivisions, zoning ordinance amendments, variances, re-zonings, and conditional use permits. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the City Council based on information provided by staff, various agencies, and public input. 


The Planning Commission is a seven-member commission.  Officers of the commission shall consist of a chair and vice-chair, as elected by the commission.  Planning Commissioners serve three year terms

Duties of Planning Commissioners

In addition, the Planning Commission assists in preparing and updating the Comprehensive Plan, which contains the goals, policies, standards, and maps that guide the physical, social, and economic development of the community. The Planning Commission assists in establishing these goals and policies by studying background data, examining development problems and opportunities, and working to create a long-range vision of the community.

Regular Meetings

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Monday of each month

Planning Commission Work Sessions

  • 5:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Monday of each month (when necessary)

Meeting Location

  • Orono Council Chambers
    2780 Kelley Parkway
    Orono, MN 55356
  1. Scott Kirchner

    Vice Chair
    Phone: 952-237-4965

    Term expires: March 31, 2023

  2. Jon Ressler

    Phone: 612-440-3941

    Term expires: March 31, 2024

  3. Bob Erickson

    Planning Commissioner
    Phone: 952-475-3302

    Term expires: March 31, 2024

  4. Dennis Libby

    Planning Commissioner
    Phone: 952-239-5464

    Term expires: March 31, 2024

  5. Chris Bollis

    Planning Commissioner
    Phone: 612-296-4011

    Term expires: March 31, 2025

  6. Mark McCutcheon

    Phone: 952-283-1149

    Term expires: March 31, 2025

  7. Matt Gettman

    Planning Commissioner
    Phone: 913-777-6558

    Term expires: March 31, 2025

  8. Dave Peterson

    Planning Commissioner Alternate
    Phone: 952-249-4600

    Term expires: March 31, 2023

  9. Gary Kraemer

    Planning Commission Alternate
    Phone: 952-935-9100