Park Commission

The Park Commission advises the City Council on matters of maintenance and use of park facilities, preservation of natural resources and promotion of environmental awareness.


The park commission is composed of seven members, who serve staggered three-year terms. The director of public services and one council member shall be members of the commission ex officio and without vote and are in addition to the seven-member commission.


The park commission shall be only an advisory body to the City Council. The commission shall study and consider the continuing needs of the city for parks and recreation areas and facilities of all kinds, including but not limited to problems involving public use of Lake Minnetonka and other lakes in the city, and portions of its shorelines. The commission shall report to the council.

Regular Meetings

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • 1st Monday of the following months - February, May, September (1st Tuesday), and November

park work sessions

  • 6:00 p.m.
  • 1 Monday of the following months - January, March, April, June, July (1st Tuesday), August, October

meeting location

  • Orono Council Chambers
    2780 Kelley Parkway
    Orono, MN 55356


The Park Commission is currently looking to add a new member.  To be considered, please fill out our Online Application.

  1. Brian Roath

    Park Commission Chair
    Phone: 612-599-4586

    Term expires: March 1st, 2023

  2. Taylor Stephens

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 707-490-4449

    March 1st, 2023

  3. Casey Conrad Hudson

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 763-438-6007

    Term expires: March 1, 2022

  4. Janice Berg

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 952-471-7462

    Term expires: March 1, 2022

  5. Rick Carter

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 612-385-5182

    Term expires: March 1, 2022

  6. Gordy Stofer

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 303-931-3326

    Term expires: March 1, 2023

  7. Kjersti Duval

    Park Commissioner
    Phone: 612-444-3100 x 102

    Term expires: March 1st, 2023

  8. Cameron Porter

    Park Commissioner Alternate
    Phone: 612-655-1467

    Term Expires March 1, 2023